top of page
  • Writer's pictureWildflower Team

Angelica Georgopoulos

Updated: Sep 16, 2020

Hi Ladies! 


My name is Angelica Georgopoulos, I graduated from Bethlehem in 2017. Some of you may remember me as on of the Vice-Presidents (Yes, the really tall one haha!) 

Before I start, let me tell you a bit about myself.


My year 12 experience was full of highs and lows. One could say I had experienced a roller coaster of events. I want to make it clear that my life during year 12 did not just comprise of study. In fact, far from it. I’m sure some of the teachers can tell you that....

Most of you may already know my passion for sports- in particular football. My week generally consisted of training 2-3 nights a week, volunteering at my local club for hours, meetings upon meetings, extra classes before/after school, working three jobs and study somewhere between all of that. 


So yeah, I know what its like to be stressed and busy. But I also knew how important study/life balance is. Although it seems impossible to accomplish, I had achieved the EXACT ATAR I had strived for. (No, not an 99.9 ATAR, but mid 80s) I want to stress how important goals are in this time AND in life. 


There are 3 crucial points I want to discuss with you during this pretty crazy time of your lives. Looking back on my year 12 experience, I wish I could of told 17 year-old me to stop obsessing over this thing in my study. It's a not-so-little concept called:


Perfectionism. 


This is an extremely dangerous thing to aim for. I want to highlight something to you... Failure is not the opposite of success; its part of success. Now don’t get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with aiming for a goal, in fact- this is something I totally encourage you to do. But it’s important to remember the things around you. What is really important to you? Because let me tell you- although a 99.9 ATAR sounds like you’ve accomplished the world, after school... the real question is- what is your experience in life?


And let me tell you, a 99.9 ATAR is NOT experience. 


1. Stop wasting your time on AIMING FOR PERFECTION. Instead of spending the time you would on PERFECTING. Spend it on gaining life experience! Play sports, an instrument, learn a language, volunteer, spend time with family or work! Because those are things that’s going to define you for life. Not the ATAR. 


Life experience is what is what brings the dull textbook to life. This is the best time to learn life experience. 


2.Dont feel guilty giving yourself time to do the things you love. This is just as important as your study. Personally, my passion is football. I made an effort to go to the park for a kick around, or spent 90 mins out of my study to watch my favourite team play. We all have something we love to do, and if you don’t… use this time to find it! Make this a goal, each day/week strive towards finishing a goal and ending it with a reward, something you love to do! Remember, how great is it to be happy.

Almost everything works again if you unplug for a few minutes… Including you. 


Stress…. believe it or not, its important. When you think about it, stress is actually good for you when managed correctly. Stress is a motivator, think about it for a second… how else did you get your last assignment done? 


3. The greatest weapon against stress is our ability to choose one thought over another.  Stress actually helps you accomplish goals. So next time your stressed out- listen to yourself. What are you stressed about? Write it down on paper. Break it down, step-by-step. What do you then need to do to feel relieved

You’ve just created goals. 

Ladies, you are ALL GOING THROUGH THIS TOGETHER… remember that. You have amazing teachers, friends and family to reach out to, who want you to succeed not only in school, but in life. Its so important to remember the things you love. Time is a gift- sometimes we just need to put things in perspective, and that’s a life skill too.  


I wish you all the best with the HSC and discovering who you are in life. 


It’s certainly not a straight road… but where’s the fun in that?


Goodluck! 

110 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page