top of page
  • Writer's pictureWildflower Team

Sofia Danas

Hi Bethlehemians!


My name is Sofia and I graduated last year in 2019.


My advice may seem really silly and redundant but I wish someone had told me this going through year 12 - part of doing the HSC is having self-esteem and confidence in what you know. You can do all the study in the world and know your syllabus back to front but the kicker you need to get that better mark is to have confidence in your studies. In saying this, I don’t mean don’t study and go in with a ‘big head’, but study and take in as much as you can and know you got this! (Self-esteem is using your strengths and knowing your weaknesses so you can work on them)


Study buddies! - Having a study buddy was one of the best memories in high school. It provides you with the opportunity to express your understanding of a subject and receive constructive criticism back. My friends and I chose a cafe every week and spent the day studying and ordered way too many coffees. ( Liquid Art Cafe in Clemton Park is really good)


Another thing!! Enjoy every single moment you get in high school! Me and the girls I went to school with still spending nights laughing about classes and little things that seem insignificant in the moment. Studying and pouring your efforts into academics can drain you very easily so having times where you can enjoy your friends' company is one of the best gifts of year 12!


In future, you won’t reminisce on the achievements you made but the memories you make in the process, so enjoy it! In high school, I placed a massive emphasis on the level of academia I ‘should’ be at and relied on a good ATAR to suffice myself. This is one of the biggest mistakes you can make. Once we received our ATARs I was extremely happy but that only lasted for so long before I realised a mark does not define a person, the construction of the memories and experiences you make define your happiness and who you are.


I wish you all well in your HSC and future endeavours and remember there is much more to life than the HSC - Sofia <3


109 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page