top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren Knezevic

all the small businesses u need in lockdown rn

hey lauren here,


in this period of lockdown i've become obsessed with all these talented small businesses we have around us! the internet is truly amazing! here is my rendition of all the small businesses u need in lockdown rn. click on the names to visit their instagram accounts!


 






Bad Days The Label is a slow-fashion small business who make hand-crafted crochet bags and accessories. We want our pieces to be symbols of self-empowerment. Being big believers in self-expression through clothing, we provide pieces that are both practical, trendy and statement pieces so that you have the option to express yourself any way you can. Rachel Weisz is the creator of Bad Days The Label. She spends hours a day creating hand-made crochet pieces and is extremely passionate about the slow-fashion craft.


We defer from fast fashion methods and do what we can to be sustainable, ethically conscious and are proud to be a slow fashion business. However, we are still learning sustainable methods and want to utilise our platforms for education and awareness on fashion sustainability so that we can also teach you, which is why we also created Bad Days The Podcast.


Listen in on our journey on Spotify or head onto our page www.baddays.com.au to have a look at our pieces!



 





Hi, I’m Charlene and I’m the maker behind nano workshop. nano workshop is a slow fashion studio based in Sydney, currently making tote bags and bucket hats. My first collection is called KUMO TOTE, kumo means cloud in Japanese, and it is made with terry towelling fabric. I first discovered the fabric last year, where I just found it super soft, comforting and fluffy. The pandemic has definitely contributed to a more casual and cozy fashion style where people just want to dress in comfy clothes all day! So that’s how KUMO TOTE was born. I wanted to achieve that faux fur look without using synthetic fibres. KUMO TOTE is super fluffy and colourful, it’s for everyone. You can choose whatever colour combo you like, since all tote bags are made-to-order (to reduce less waste). I also have another collection that focuses on upcycling, where I turn vintage/secondhand materials into tote bags & bucket hats. Instead of sourcing new materials, it is so important to just use existing materials in production. I often use vintage wool blankets and towels to create! Something about these secondhand material is that it has a history, it has a story behind it, someone must’ve owned it before me and how did it get to me. It is just so fascinating and honoured to be working with these materials.





 





My name is Holly and I am the owner of Holly Hoops! I am a University student from Melbourne, Australia, and I decided this year to channel my creativity into launching my own jewellery business.


I sell a variety of gold jewellery items, with silver coming to the store very soon! Each of my pieces are dainty and timeless, meaning they will ALWAYS be in style and perfect for elevating your outfits. With this business, I’m striving to bring to the market the type of jewellery that I love and can’t seem to find elsewhere!


I am extremely thankful for all of the support I have received so far, and I am so excited to be turning my dreams into a reality ♡





 







🌻 We are a creative sister duo making all these goodies in our home studio in Sydney, Australia. 🌈 Bambooyah started when we knew we wanted to create something with a small footprint on the Earth while making beautiful wearable art that brings people joy.

🎨👭🌏 This small business is a direct reflection of our love for the earth and our love for creating. 🌱 We have chosen to use sustainably sourced bamboo as our primary material, so we can have peace of mind knowing it can eventually go back to the earth.


Our beloved planet is threatened by the detrimental environmental impact of humans, and we all need to do our bit to protect it. We are committed to leaving our footprint as small as possible. Plastic pollution in our ecosystems, overflowing landfills, climate change, over-production & over-consumption are all issues we are passionate about combatting. All of our bamboo is sustainably sourced. It is FSC certified and originates in China. Bamboo is biodegradable and non-toxic. It grows very fast and does not require much water to grow, making it the perfect sustainable material. Bamboo is regarded ecologically as a grass, not as a timber. Due to it being a giant variety of grass, it does not require re-planting after harvesting. The root system remains in place, and growth occurs with each new growing season. You can enjoy your Bambooyah accessories guilt-free, knowing no trees were cut down to create them. We also make choices to support other small (usually local) businesses who are also doing good things when sourcing our supplies. 🙏🏻 Thank you so much for supporting our small business , we appreciate you stopping by


❤️ Follow us on Instagram to see behind the scenes of our process as artists!


❤️ Visit our website to see our upcoming events, read more about our story and our sustainability commitment.




 





Hey! I’m CrystalsByIndy and I sell ethically sourced crystals! Owning a small business is very challenging but also very rewarding. I love crystals and I have always had a passion for business so I made a crystal business! Crystals have many different properties and help people immensely. I love selling these gorgeous crystals! My small business doesn’t get too many orders but that doesn’t stop me from Pursuing my dream of being a small business owner.




 








1) Where are you located?

Vannella Cheese is located in Marrickville NSW. We produce the cheese on site here in the factory and have a shopfront where we sell to the public also. 2) Do you think that you will continue your career for the rest of your life? Do you have any long-term goals to branch out etc.

Absolutely! Food is my passion so I intend to continue to work in the hospitality industry long-term. Currently I am the Creative Director of the company which means I get be super creative in my role, planning the visual roadmap for how Vannella is perceived as a brand, pushing out all the marketing efforts of the brand, and helping management think on their toes about where the industry is heading in terms of product development, trends, and what's "hot" and what's "not" in the market. 3) What piece of advice would you tell yourself 5 years ago (2016)

Not to be hesitant. Hesitation only creates procrastination. And procrastination only results in reaching goals less soon than you are capable of achieving them. % years ago was actually quite a turning point in my career. A few years before this I had been pursuing a music tuition career which I enjoyed but was not filling the void I felt inside me! I made the decision to start from the bottom and work in a local cafe at a well-known wholesale bakery. It paid off as I found that I thoroughly enjoyed working in food, my efforts were rewarded soon after as I was promoted into a supervisor role (2IC to the manager), and later, I combined my teaching experience with the new found knowledge and passion for baking as I was appointed the Training Manager for the bakery. The motto here is to make bold moves, believe in yourself, and just go for gold. 4) What is your favourite cheese that you sell?

Mastro! It's so versatile. It's a recently developed aged cow's milk cheese, inspired by the southern Italian "Caciocavallo" the cheese has a hard edible rind but softer inside. It's cultured, so it develops a sweet, lactic flavour as it hangs for 3 months. I love eating it as is, or grilling it with honey, or even grating it into pasta! 5) What steps have you done to get to where you are today?

(Refer to my answer to question 3) 6) So it is well known on your instagram page that there are many ways to eat vannella cheese! What is your favourite recipe of the bunch?

In the office, we all have a soft spot for my Crostata di Ricotta. When it's coffee break time, we cut a slice and enjoy it immensely! It has a sweetened ricotta filling spiked with bits of dark chocolate, orange zest and liquor soaked raisins, all encased in a buttery pastry. 7) What advice do you have for our students who want to get into the food and culinary industry?

Brilliant! Take my case as an example. There are so many branches of employment opportunity and growth within this wonderful industry. Don't think hospitality is all about becoming a chef, because it's not. It can be, but that's not all that's on offer. In food and beverage, there are management roles that you can grow into. In marketing, there are a number of roles you can grow into. In the kitchen, there is lots of growth available. The best thing you can do is to just start somewhere. You will never get to where you want to be without starting somewhere. If that means serving customers at your local cafe, as I did, then so be it. You could be studying at the same time, or picking up skills elsewhere.

Thanks,


Anthony Silvio Creative Director




 






Our names are Jacob and Kathryn.


We have just launched our business, Wrap ‘em Up Gifts, in hopes of making gifting to your loved ones much easier, especially through this lockdown. We customise all of our boxes to meet everyone’s needs and to make gifting to a loved one very personal. We are a family orientated loving business so your gifts are safe with us. Join us on our new venture and become apart of our family.





 





hi ! my name is ella <3 i’m 14 years old and live in lake mac, nsw. i am the sole owner of ella sam crochet. i started teaching myself to crochet towards the end of 2020 and by late january 2021, ella sam crochet was born ! since then i have been working hard and i am grateful to have made many sales and interacted with lots of wonderful customers and other lovely small businesses


ella sam crochet is a small store that sells crocheted bags, bucket hats, earrings, cardigans and more ! these items are completely customisable in terms of colour and size, with no extra costs. i love sharing my creations and strive to make them as affordable, size inclusive and eco-friendly as i can <3


i thank everyone that has supported me and my small biz in any way and i can’t wait to see what’s to come for ella sam crochet !!





 

i hope you love these businesses as much as we do!! go give them lots of love!



– lauren

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page