top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren Knezevic

concerts

Updated: Oct 20, 2020

If you’re like me and you’re a concert fanatic you definitely miss the numerous amount of countdowns on your laptop. With everything going on in the world, unfortunately concerts have been put on hold, so I’d like to reminisce and generalize the amazing memories that concerts I've been to bring.


Whenever I hear about an artist I love announcing that they will perform a concert in Sydney, it’s my number one priority to get tickets. I never stop talking about it to everyone and I keep imagining the amazing time that I’ll have, seeing my favourite songs live, being in that amazing atmosphere.


But then it comes to the nerve-wracking day… the day of buying tickets. Especially if it’s a major artist, getting tickets can be more nerve wracking than a maths test. My palms seem to sweat as the time for releasing tickets comes closer. I get butterflies in my stomach, anxious thoughts running through my mind. What if I don’t get the tickets I want? What if my friends don’t get their tickets? The clock directly hits 5pm and I’m already on the website with three different devices. The adrenaline rushes through my body… I’m ready. It’s intense as I click on the ticket I want, filling in all the details. Then my eyes light up as I see the beloved screen say “Congratulations Lauren Knezevic!”. I shrill as I put the countdown on my laptop and called up my friends excited that I managed to get tickets.


156 days later, it’s the day of the concert. I’ve planned this day over and over again in my mind. My outfit ready to go and my makeup all set out. I’m so ready. My friends arrive and we head off, usually to get dinner first. After we’re filled with mcdonalds we head to the concert lines. Anticipation and excitement quickly turns into butterflies and impatience. We talk and talk until they slowly open up the doors, everyone’s faces lighting up with excitement. I look around to see teenagers power walking with all their might to get a good spot at the front. Then the most amazing thing happened, we got the barrier. I clutch onto the barrier with all my might, a huge smile is plastered on my face. Not long until I see my favourite artist on stage.


Imagine it’s been about an hour or so, the stage lights up, chatter dies down and everyone waits silently with anticipation. A few seconds later screams fill up my ears as they come on stage with a bright smile. Adrenaline rushes through my body as I dance and scream with all my might.


I dance and sing and scream until my legs ache and I lose my voice. The floor is thumping, everyone around me is dancing, my friends have some of the biggest smiles on their faces, and I feel like I’m floating. It’s hard to believe my favourite artist is here and right in front of me.


Then the dreaded last song comes on. A rush of sadness fills my body. That quickly? It’s almost over? Time really does fly by when we have fun. The last note is sung and confetti dances around me. “Thankyou Sydney!” hearing this makes me feel a mixture of emotions. I’m craving my bed but I also feel like I can dance all night. My friends and I take some confetti off the slightly sticky floor and take photos. As everyone leaves in a huge crowd there is chatter everywhere. I hear conversations of everyone’s favourite moments and songs. I feel at peace, but I also feel exhausted and ready to crash on my bed.


When I find my mum in the designated waiting spot I give her a hug and talk non-stop about all the amazing memories I had. My friends and I jump into the backseat and turn on the radio softly. The songs on the radio being the same ones we screamed our hearts out to an hour ago. We sing we chat and slowly one by one, friends are dropped off home. When I make it home I crash into my bed, sleeping well and not waking up till late next morning.


The next morning I woke up with a huge smile, I can’t believe how amazing last night was. I show my mum all of the photos and videos at breakfast, slowly building a collection to post everywhere. After having a long phone call with my friends it slowly hits… the dreaded concert depression. Everything feels numb and sad, it’s over :(


I get a notification from my friends. Another artist I love announces they’ll perform in Sydney… the cycle repeats itself.


Concerts connect us, they bring out such amazing memories that we will look back at for the rest of our lives. For me, the thrill of working odd jobs to get these tickets is what makes these events so special. So if you’re reading this, once our world pandemic is over go to those concerts! Who cares if you go by yourself, or at the back of the arena? or even just using all your pocket money to go. Worth it!


– lauren <3


41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page