top of page
  • Writer's pictureWildflower Team

even more small businesses!


From Selena!

( Who has gone around asking 4 small businesses a few questions! )


GO CHECK THEM OUT AND SHOW SOME LOVE!

 




1. Blanear Boutique








Blanear Boutique is an Australian online women's boutique, located in South of Sydney. I first started my small business at 18 years old during the pandemic with the goal of empowering teenagers and young woman to feel comfortable and be proud of their own bodies.


Q1) Do you think that you will continue your career for the rest of your life? If not, what do you see yourself doing?

I am currently working a part-time job while running my small business, and studying at University. I definitely do not see myself working in this career for the rest of my life. My plans are to become a full time business owner hopefully soon.

Q2) How did your high school experience impact your life today?

My school experience has made a huge impact on the type of person I am today. During school, I was the complete opposite person that I am today. I was hanging around with the wrong crowd and I didn't really have any goals, motivation or direction for my life. After I dropped out in year 10, I decided to make a positive change in my life.

Q3) What would you tell yourself 5 years ago? (in 2016!!)

I would tell my 2016 year old self who was in year 7 at the time, to have fun, don't rush anything and don't change yourself to fit in with other people that you don't even like. High School will be over before you even know it and you will never be in contact with those people again.

Q4)What are some of your high school memories?

Some of my favourite memories from high school with my old friends would be locking my teacher in the sports room for hours while running away, doing the ice bucket challenge with my principal and doing a lip sync group battle in front of the whole school to raise money for cancer.




 






2. Maho Sensory







1) Do you think that you will continue your career for the rest of your life? If not, what do you see yourself doing?

I really hope that I get the opportunity to continue what I am doing with MAHŌ for the rest of my life. I feel that everything that has lead me to this moment is my calling and for the 1st time in my working career, none of this feels like a job.


2) What would you tell yourself 5 years ago? (in 2016!!)

Be patient – it really is a virtue. Also patience will lead you to the path you are meant to be on.


3) What steps have you done to get to where you are today?

In a nutshell, I took the long road and had to face many obstacles to understand and acknowledge what I really wanted out of life. For example instead of doing an arts degree I ended up in commerce which brought me no joy. And instead of listening to my heart and finding a creative career, I decided on the security of a finance career, which was detrimental on my soul.



 




3. bex_homemade








1) Do you think that you will continue your career for the rest of your life? If not, what do you see yourself doing?

Yes, I believe physically and mentally I can do this for the rest of my life.


2) How did your high school experience impact your life today?

I met 2 beautiful humans that are helping me MASSIVELY with my business and self-confidence.


3) What would you tell yourself 5 years ago? (in 2016!!)

Get your bestie and go do that Beginner (and Advanced) Candle Making course that you will be doing in 3 years, have confidence in yourself that you CAN DO THIS!


4) What steps have you done to get to where you are today?

Used the Accounting/Excel knowledge previously learnt, Beginner (and Advanced) Candle Making course, participating in Western Sydney Business Centre’s webinars to grow my business…and lastly, I am ½ way through the N.E.I.S. program.


5) What are some of your high school memories?

Crying my eyes out at our last assembly (but, so did the rest of the class), Friendships, Loneliness (at times), testing the boundaries with the teachers



 






4. Empyrean The Collective







1) Do you think that you will continue your career for the rest of your life? If not, what do you see yourself doing?

In the next 10 years it would be a dream to have my own Empyrean HQ with creative team members. I definitely see myself as a boss/entrepreneur in the long run as I've never pictured myself working at a corporate 9-5 job. Although the hours are longer when I'm working for myself, the reward is so fulfilling and worth all the sacrifices and hard work.


2) How did your high school experience impact your life today?

In high school I thrived in all the creative subjects! I dropped Science as soon as I could! I did Extension English 1 & 2 since I loved creative writing and also did Multimedia whereby my major work was nominated for InTech. Inevitably, a lot of people like myself didn't know what to do after high school but a Bachelor of Marketing & Media caught my interest and this degree helped my pursue and hone my creative talents


3) What would you tell yourself 5 years ago? (in 2016!!)

5 years ago I would have told myself to not worry about the future too much! I strived to get Band 6 in all my units and was afraid that I wouldn't succeed in life. I think everything happens for a reason and if something doesn't go your way, then it's totally okay!


4) What steps have you done to get to where you are today?

I just finished my university degree in June and it was such a rewarding course! I started Empyrean The Collective last year, July 2020, whilst I was still studying and finding a healthy work life balance was definitely challenging. Since I studied marketing I did have some prior knowledge to branding and running a business however I would say that starting a small business requires a lot of sacrifice, time and motivation - you have to have a passion for the business in order to grow; because if someone was just chasing money for example, the business could fail overtime. Dedication, a strong brand personality/brand voice and creating something unique is what will help a business succeed


5) What are some of your high school memories?

My favourite high school memories were simply hanging out with my friends at recess and lunch. I think once you leave high school you take this time for granted since you don't see your friends everyday and sometimes you could even drift away from people. But I'm so thankful that my friend group still keeps in touch even though we only meet once or twice a year! Another favourite memory of mine was performing during assemblies and when I sang an original song at my graduation. All of this makes me very nostalgic!



 


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page