top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren Knezevic

grades don't define you

Updated: Aug 20, 2020

Most of us know the sinking feeling of working hard and not getting the grades we aimed for. It’s a load of disappointment, the question of all this hard work and for what?


For a lot of students, academic success is placed as a top priority during their years of education. We all know it, grades are a part of us. But do we have to make them a part of us? Does it define you? Do your grades tell who you are as a person?


We live in an age where we have become hyper self-conscious of our appearance, age, values, beliefs, and even school grades. The system of grades can become an overwhelming source of anxiety. The questions of did I study enough for the perfect grade? Is this assignment good enough for an “A”?


Grades allow comparisons which can damage self-esteem and self-worth. The thoughts of my friend did so much better than me on that test, my friend is so much smarter than me. It can be really damaging to a friendship by basing it on academic success. Intelligence is not the glue that holds people together. Instead, base your friendships on support, chemistry, love, wisdom, genuine care and concern.


We shouldn’t aim to achieve perfection, but instead improvement. Education should be about growth, wonder, learning, and understanding. Not competition, comparison and self-consciousness.


It’s a hard frame of mind to place yourself in, I’m nowhere near perfecting it yet, but we must not forget that self-worth comes from within, not numbers or letters on a piece of paper. I recently was upset about a mark I received and this was a response from a very good friend of mine that I thought I should bring to light.


It’s not worth the stress you are putting on yourself right now. You are incredible, intelligent and beautiful okay? This mark does not define you or your worth because there’s plenty of tasks where you can attempt again and even then, highschool is a small chapter of your life. I know it is so much easier said than done. I know it, but trust me you are incredible and I really just want you to be happy and strive.


The many things that define you as a person are your personality, talents, quirks, emotions, humanity, thoughts, dreams, values, notice how I didn’t say grades? Everyone is unique and talented in different aspects of life, it’s how we contribute ourselves, the things that define us, to make the world a better place.


– lauren x


41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page