top of page
  • Jessica Clemente

here's the tea

Updated: Sep 14, 2020

I’m just going to come out and say it. For me, Chatime is the best bubble tea place out. I’ve had many interesting and lively conversations with some of my friends who claim otherwise and while I respect their opinions, there’s no reason for me to change mine or you to change yours!


Just a bit of disclaimer, some of my friends really love and regularly order my tea suggestions, and some of them a b s o l u t e l y hate it (had one friend literally spit out the drink oops) so these suggestions may or may not be for you. But if you’re open to it, who knows, you may find your new go-to order! I’ve selected my favourite drink from each of the four Chatime headings: milky, fruity, frozen and lightly sparkled.


I also always get half/less sugar and less ice with my teas and I highly encourage you to do it too! I’ve always done this because (a) ain’t got no time for diabetes (b) getting less ice means there’s more space for tea and (c) if I find myself wanting another one (not too regularly though, despite the common belief among my family and friends, I’m not THAT much of an addict) I can justify the amount of sugar I’m having because technically having two teas with half sugar means you’re only consuming the amount of sugar for one cup ;)


MILKY: ASSAM MILK TEA WITH PEARLS + CUSTARD/HERBAL JELLY/LYCHEE JELLY

If you have my snap, you have 100% seen this on my story about a gazillion times (sorry not sorry) but this is my go-to milk tea! I find it lighter than the normal Premium Pearl Milk Tea, it seems to have just a bit more flavour but is more of an acquired taste. Not really sure why, but whenever I eat rice dishes or if it's a cooler day, I generally lean more towards milk teas rather than fruit teas. I always get this drink with pearls but I generally pair the pearls with either herbal jelly or lychee jelly too.


FRUITY: PEACH GREEN TEA WITH GRAPE JELLY AND LYCHEE JELLY

This is my go-to fruit tea! I love love love the flavour of peach and definitely prefer the peach green tea over the peach black tea. It’s super light, sooooo refreshing, and perfect for a hot day or a picnic out with your friends. I like getting both grape and lychee jelly with the tea (sometimes it becomes a bit too sweet) but for me the more toppings the better! For some odd reason, it takes me a lot less time to drink a fruit tea than a milk tea (don’t ask why) so if you’re in need of a quick fix this is the one for you.


FROZEN: GUAVA GRAPEFRUIT FROZEN WITH LYCHEE JELLY

This one is also so so so refreshing! If you like slushies then I highly suggest you order this. Like the peach green tea it's perfect for a hot day and definitely consider ordering this if your lunch is a bit too spicy. At times it can be a little bitter (depending on the store you get it from) but the slight bitterness is definitely balanced out with the sweetness of the lychee jelly.


LIGHTLY SPARKLED: TROPICAL LIGHTLY SPARKLED GREEN TEA WITH COCONUT JELLY

I definitely like this one compared to the other lightly sparkled options. I like to pair it with coconut or lychee jelly but I see many people pair it with popping pearls too. If you like soft drinks and a subtle tickle in your throat then this one is the drink for you. It’s not too sweet, not too sour and definitely delicious!


Ps. I’ve had some of my friends call me out and tell me that introducing them to bubble tea has made them use quiiiite a bit of money so please please please enjoy these suggestions but with restraint. Don’t forget to stay healthy and to make sure to keep moving to counteract all those extra calories too. (There’s a video on this blog where Claudia takes you through a quick HIIT exercise so maybe try that in your spare time!)


Happy drinking! :)


Jess





89 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page