top of page
  • Alyssia Joukhador

hot girl book recomendations

Despite disliking english as a subject (sorry if you’re my english teacher) I love reading and have spent the majority of my time in lockdown reading new books, so I thought I’d share some with you guys.


Just a recognition comment for Christina Auduong ♡ for sharing with me some of her own recommendations as well because she has far better taste in books than myself.


Ok, here’s the list in no particular order:



 

A Court of Thorns and Roses | Sarah J Maas

–––– Fantasy, romance | trilogy with a single novella and a new book released Jan this year


Personal review: Quite a number of plot twists but a solid romance plot. Explores the idea of friendships really well and makes you want to travel to Switzerland and possibly never come back.



–––––––♡–––––––


Throne of Glass | Sarah J Maas

–––– Fantasy, romance, action | 6 books with two novellas


Personal review: I haven’t finished this, but Chrissy says this series hit differently and from what I have read, it is a very well developed story line. Number of romances that will make you cry. The main character is awesome and if the author’s other series makes you want to move to Switzerland, this one makes you want to dance around in ball gowns with a number of weapons stashed under your dress. Seriously considered becoming an assassin after this one.



–––––––♡–––––––


Stalking Jack the Ripper | Kerri maniscalco

–––– Romance, mystery, crime, historical | 4 books


Personal review: Right up my ally with the crime and history. Seriously, the series focuses on a number of serial killers including Jack the Ripper, Prince Dracula, Houdini, the devil, complete with actual facts and evidence. Also a rival to lovers fic and still makes Chrissy ‘swoon’.



–––––––♡–––––––


Six of Crows | Leigh Bardugo

–––– Fantasy, hints of romance, a fun heist | Duology


Personal review: Watched the show on netflix before reading this but it is awesome and now all I do is read quotes and headcanons about the characters on tumblr. Jesper is the love of my life. There is a follow up book that I haven't read yet, but if you really enjoy this one, at least you have another.



–––––––♡–––––––


You Deserve Each Other | Sarah Hogle

–––– Contemporary, romance, loves to estranged loves to lovers | Stand-alone book


Personal review: A lighter story, very cute and very fun. Both Chrissy and I finished this in a day so it’s quite an easy read. I don’t like relationships all that much but this book makes me want one. It has romance, angst and humour all wrapped up in one so that’s awesome.



–––––––♡–––––––


If We Were Villains | M.L. Rio

–––– Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Literary fiction | Stand-alone book


Personal review: One of my all time favourites. Focuses on murder and literature, if you like Shakespeare this one’s for you. It has underlying romance and makes you question throughout the entire book if there really is something more, or you’re losing your mind. Lots of angst and I am sorry for the emotional whirlwind this book will take you on.



–––––––♡–––––––


Red, White and Royal Blue | Casey McQuiston

–––– Romance, Politics, Royalty, LGBT | Stand-alone book


Personal review: I am absolutely in love with this book, both the plot and the characters. It’s so adorable but also teaches you some really valuable lessons. Set in a contemporary timeline and makes you wish you had the mother as prime minister. Definitely makes you want to send romantic letters and quote historically famous writers.



–––––––♡–––––––


Every Breath | Nicholas Sparks

–––– Contemporary romance, domestic fiction | Stand-alone book


Personal review: Really cute & makes you not fear old age (if you’re like me). Makes you want to travel to Zimbabwe and North Carolina and first taught me about kindred spirits!!! Read it several times. Also makes you appreciate the simple things in life.



–––––––♡–––––––


Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe | Benjamin Alire Sáenz

–––– Young adult fiction, coming of age | Stand-alone book (for now)


Personal review: First thought it was about Aristotle the Greek philosopher. Jeez this is such a cute and romantic story. Might take you a bit to get into but it is so worth it. The tumblr headcanons are adorable and there’s a sequel coming out in October this year I believe.



–––––––♡–––––––


The song of Achilles | Madeline Miller

–––– Romance novel, Historical Fiction, War | Stand-alone book


Personal review: I just finished this book and I have no words to describe the pain I am going through. Literally crying myself to sleep. It’s such a well written story though and the romance is adorable. Also really satisfying to read if you’ve learnt about the Trojan war because it gives you a new and interesting perspective into the main individuals involved, and also it’s satisfying to interlink what the author has written with your own knowledge. A number of revelations that forced me to put the book down a few times. 10/10 please read and I’m currently revolving my whole personality to suit Greek mythology.


 

After writing this I’ve realised I am horribly addicted to books with history and literature themes that include a lot of angst so I’m so sorry in advance, but I hope you enjoy these reads as much as Chrissy and I did :)



p.s majority of these books can be found online following this link: https://b-ok.global/



–– Alyssia :))


34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page