top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren Knezevic

how to achieve hot girl semester


hey there, lauren here!


right now it's term four of what has been an unexpected year... it's been pretty crap. term four is always renown for the scale down in motivation, grades and overall health. i saw this thread in my daily scroll thru twitter about hot girl semester and it's currently in! look...it's been a long school year, we're all exhausted counting down the days till those beloved christmas holidays. but term four doesn't have to be that let down term academically, so here's your guide in achieving hot girl semester!




 

#1 active recall

this is a method of studying where your memory is actively stimulate to study. this is much more efficient than passive learning: reading notes, highlighting, etc. some amazing techniques are flashcards or practice papers, teaching someone else the topic you're trying to study or blurting.


a helpful way to blurting is reading over your lecture notes or textbook and writing down everything you know from memory, no peeking. once you've done this, you can compare what you know to your notes. keep doing this until you've memorised everything.


 

#2 notes on the day, everyday

taking notes in class, even if it's just dot points is also super helpful because let's be real... doing it later has us wishing we listened to our past selves. making sure that you do notes every single lesson even if it's a quarter of page with dot points can be so helpful in the future!

 

#3 start some new notes (notion, writing, annotating)

find what works for you!! whether it's writing in books, annotating texts or typing notes online don't listen to the crowds. I tried handwriting all of my notes for years and my grades were always average because I didn't know how to use them after I wrote them. When I got into year 11 I changed my study habits to write all my notes on Notion and my grades have gone up since. Sure my hand gets sore more when writing in exams but hey at least I ace them.


 

#4 real goals

i know when the teachers mention goals it can make us go ugh and blank! what is it that you want? if your goal is to go to a dream uni, understand that you're not going to go there by daydreaming, you need to put in action. remember: dreams don't work unless you do! make good real goals that you'll actually work towards! here are some examples:

⭒ if i get an A in this subject overall I'll buy myself ________ (concert tickets, phone etc.)

⭒ prove them all wrong! i'm going to surprise everyone with my amazing marks

⭒ i want to walk across the stage to get an award at the college awards night!

⭒ i need this atar for my dream course so i have to work for it!


 

#5 believe in yourself

sure having your teachers, friends, partners and parents support is amazing! but the most important support system you need is yourself! doubt kills more dreams than failure ever will. understand that you can put anything you put your mind to. you are beyond capable. despite everything, you have gotten this far and you will continue to go further. I know it's all stressful right now but it's going to be over sooner than you know it, everything will be worth it <3


 

#6 planners are ur bestie

i know it can sound exhausting but getting a planner and using it religiously is key (i tend to use to-do lists on notion) jot down every little date that your teacher mentions. don't let anything take you by surprise. be on top of everything and work ahead so that you are not overwhelmed by last minute deadlines.


 

#7 ur teachers can be ur bestfriends

this is a great way to get academically engaged but not only that, a way to get them on your side when it comes to referrals for internships, getting good predictions and grades, and so fantastic because you can understand how they prefer essays or answers written to ensure you can do the best you can! If your personality is more likeable, they are much more likely to help or even show you examples on how things should be answered for the best marks. my teachers are so great and i'm so thankful! (especially to mr martin who answers all my 10pm stress induced emails 😭)


 

#8 participate in class

i know this is so scary but participating in class more engages you to remember more content! giving it a shot even if it's totally terrifying and you get it wrong can ensure you get it right next time! Don't be afraid to stay behind for any questions you may have. It makes the lessons feel quicker, more bearable and best of all it will be worth it in the long run!


 

#9 romanticise studying when all goes wrong

getting cute stationary, make your notes worth writing, dress up to go to class, make good playlists for studying/travelling, etc. These are examples that can make your experience a lot more beautiful and bearable rather than painfully stressful. Another way is to find yourself a comfortable space to study and stick with it. This can be your bedroom desk or a cute cafe or library. you can even go to the cafe/library solo or with your friends. studying doesn't have to be a chore, romanticise it and make it something to look forward to. I never realised that people don't do this???



 

#10 mental health priority days

i find these extremely helpful and i'm so grateful my parents do as well. When I'm stressed with my workload and overwhelmed by school I take a mental health day off. My mum lets me take a few each term and find them a great way to reset my mind. I ask my mum the night before, sleep in the next day until 9am. Once I wake up and get ready, I slowly do bits and pieces of my classwork that day to ensure I don't fall behind, then focus on the assignment or exam I need the most. I find taking regular breaks, doing it in comfy pjs and having warm lunch from home really helps! (ubereats if you're feeling extra ;)) Once it hits 3pm I completely switch off... taking a bath, going on a bike ride, watching netflix, going out with friends or even calling them online helps!


 


this is so important! please don’t neglect your mental and physical health. there’s a strong link between your mental health and grades. by finding something you enjoy (yoga, jogging, martial arts, sports, work etc) and sticking it a few times a week to take your mind off things is great! yes, grades are important but your health is a priority and this deserves just as much attention. take days to yourself and remember that your best is good enough, whatever that may look like for you on the day <3



– lauren


 

credit to this amazing tweet i found: https://twitter.com/LOVESONAS/status/1436455079297626112


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page