top of page
  • Jessica Tannous

jealousy –– song cover by jessica


hi :))

here's a few questions to get to know me a little more along with my song cover of jealousy by olivia rodrigo! hope you like it.



1. How long have you been passionate about music?

I have been passionate about music for as long as I can remember. I grew up in a very musical family and my parents used to sing in the choir at my local parish. From then I was singing and I was put into music lessons from around 3 then piano a couple of years later. I then went on to do private tuition for a couple of years and then started taking vocal lessons in year 8. I started writing music around this time well while teaching myself guitar. I then started to do small gigs in year 9 with my first gig at the Museum of Contemporary Art youth event Genext. For these performances I worked with a loop pedal to loop both my guitar and voice.



2. How has your journey at Bethlehem influenced your love of music?

I was actively involved in music at Bethlehem. I was part of the choir every year and used to practically live in the music rooms at recess and lunch. Bethlehem helped nurture and encourage my love music as it’s where I took piano and vocal lessons. Even small things like being the witch in year 8 G&T was such a fun experience to explore my own musicality and my style as a singer.



3. What’s life like after Bethlehem, especially in the music industry?

So I actually left Bethlehem after year 10 and finished my high schooling at another school. Since then I got into the Sydney Conservatorium of Music, University of Sydney with a Bachelor of Music (Education) and a principal study in Contemporary Music Practice. This has been an amazing experience so far and even just being in my second semester of my first year I have learnt so much. I’m writing music constantly as part of my degree and learning all the background work that goes into production, recording and composing music.



4. What is your main style in your music and what message are you trying to share?

My music is very personal and usually depicts my experiences or emotions at the time. I try to produce music that others can relate to and I hope to communicate experiences or emotions that are often hard to explain through words. I believe that music definitely has the ability to speak when words fail and I hope to continue to use music in that way as I continue to write. With that being said though, I also just love to have fun, happy, silly and random messages in my music, especially when I write pop music. The majority of my music definitely leans more towards an indie pop sound, but I wouldn’t put a definitive label on it yet, and I don’t think I ever will because I am still growing in who I am as a musician and that will continue to reflect onto what I compose.



5. What advice would you give to those at Bethlehem who are aspiring musicians?

My advice to anyone who is an aspiring musician is to keep going. It may feel hard at times to continue with a creative journey but the end product is always so rewarding. Get involved in as much as you can even if that be just things that are happening at school. I would be a very different person if I didn’t start gigging in high school. Look for opportunities that will benefit you, and also circumstances where it’s ok to make mistakes as you won’t be an expert at performance or writing straight away- and that's ok. I would also say to be kind to yourself. A lot of my friends who are musicians are always their own harshest critics (myself included) and while that can be beneficial a lot of the time, it’s important to accept your flaws in order to understand what you need to work on.



socials!



 

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page