top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren Knezevic

my goodbye to wildflower


hello!


as some of you may know, i'm lauren :)) walking into the gates of bethlehem in year seven, i never thought i'd ever lead any clubs or initiatives, i always thought that i would just follow on with whatever i liked. but here i am, i've been the editor in chief for wildflower for quite a while now. i was given the position by the co-founders of wildflower, claudia harb and joanne lee, and i will never forget the day they approached me with the idea.


it was at chatime, jo approached me, "hey claudia and i are starting this cool school blog called wildflower, we were wondering if you'd like to write a few articles, maybe a fashion one?". i was so honoured :))


i remember seeing the first draft of wildflower, it needed a lot of work but we eventually did it, releasing the first ever wildflower edition.


from there time flew, before i knew it, claudia and jo were graduating, handing the privilege of being wildflower's editor in chief, to continue the legacy of it, since that day it has been my sole purpose at bethlehem to leave my mark in wildflower :))


there have been many ups and downs to it, sometimes it would get so exhausting running editions every two weeks (that's why we changed it to once a month), some editions we'd get heaps of articles, some we'd get none. we've stuck it through and watched it grow into what it is today.



i can't believe this is my last ever edition that i'll run, it's safe to say i've been there since edition #1, and i'm so proud of how far it's come. of course in the next few editions i'll submit a few articles before i graduate but unfortunately year 12 reality has hit, deadlines and exams mean that my time as editor in chief is up :') all the hours running around behind the scenes, organising pinterest boards for the covers, writing new articles, writing in the advice column, running competitions and maintaining the websites behind the scenes with michelle came all down to this.


so thank you, for giving me a platform as a creativity outlet, it's safe to say wildflower has helped me more than you all will ever know. reading every single article we've ever published, yes all 266 of them, i've seen students and teachers express themselves freely.



i have heaps of thank yous so stick with me :))


thank you to jo and claudia, for giving me this privilege to run this amazing club :)) it has made my senior experience so magical!


thank you to the wildflower team, it would all be impossible without you all by my side, you are the true reason wildflower continues today and i have so much love for each and every one of you.


thank you to my best friends, for sticking through me in meetings, writing articles, sticking by me even when i push the new editions out one by one :))


thank you to mrs cofini, for helping me so much over the past year with wildflower. your guidance, support and love has really made it such an awesome initiative to lead.


thank you to alexia vidotto, she has stuck with me from day one of taking over and has given me the ultimate love, support and assistance whenever i needed it. i have so much faith in you to continue this amazing blog, to hand it down for years and years to come, i wouldn't give it to anyone else.


thank you to our readers, without you, our audience, there would be no point to this whole blog, so if you read rarely, sometimes or always, thankyou. words cannot describe how exciting it is to see your article get views and love <33



wildflower has been so awesome, definitely one of the main highlights of my time here at bethlehem. i hope you all enjoy it for years to come because the team truly works so hard to get new editions out every month <33


that's it from me, thank you so much :))



signing out for the last time as editor in chief


–– lauren :))

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page