top of page
  • Writer's pictureMartina Iunco

the best choc chip cookies you will ever eat!!



Ladies, gentlemen and everyone in between it’s official, COVID has ruined everyone’s plans to have the best 2021 ever!! Coming up to three months in lockdown and a whole term of online learning has taught two very valuable lessons. First and foremost, I NEED my friends, so that I can hug them and give all my love to them. And finally I have the weirdest methods of procrastination. I have basically become a 1960’s stay at home mum. My house is now spotless, quite literally not a speck of dust has been seen in my house for the past 3 weeks. And I have become an incredible baker, which in turn has caused me to gain A LOT of COVID weight. Anyway, without further ado, I present to you my favourite cookie recipe ever.


Ingredients (for 12 cookies)

  • ½ cup granulated sugar (100 g)

  • ¾ cup brown sugar (165 g), packed

  • 1 teaspoon salt

  • ½ cup unsalted butter (115 g), melted

  • 1 egg

  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

  • 1 ¼ cups all-purpose flour (155 g)

  • ½ teaspoon baking soda

  • 220g chocolate chips

Preparation

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C. Line a baking sheet with baking paper.

  2. In a large bowl, whisk together the sugars, salt, and butter until a paste forms with no lumps.

  3. Whisk in the egg and vanilla, beating until light ribbons fall off the whisk and remain for a short while before falling back into the mixture.

  4. Sift in the flour and baking soda, then fold the mixture with a spatula (Be careful not to over-mix, which would cause the gluten in the flour to toughen resulting in cakier cookies).

  5. Fold in the chocolate chunks, then chill the dough for at least 30 minutes. For a more intense toffee-like flavour and deeper colour, chill the dough overnight. The longer the dough rests, the more complex its flavour will be.

  6. Scoop the dough with an ice-cream scoop (or 2 spoons if you don’t have an ice-cream scoop) onto the baking sheet, leaving at least 10 cm of space between cookies and 5 cm of space from the edges of the pan so that the cookies can spread evenly.

  7. Bake for 12-15 minutes, or until the edges have started to brown lightly.

  8. Cool completely before serving.

  9. Enjoy!


- martina

<3

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page