top of page
  • lauren + georgia

two besties rank the barbie movies

These were so hard to rank, it physically hurt our hearts! But barbie movies have always been such a special part of our friendship that we would love to share with you all today! So without further ado, here is our controversial ranking of the barbie movies from 2001-2011 ♡



 


georgia



21. thumbelina

20. barbie diaries

19. mariposa & her butterfly fairy friends

18. perfect christmas

17. a christmas carol

16. nutcracker

15. rapunzel

14. fairytopia

13. swan lake

12. a fairy secret

11. magic of the rainbow

10. a fashion fairytale

9. mermaidia

8. mermaid tale

7. magic of the pegasus

6. three musketeers

5. princess charm school

4. 12 dancing princesses


03.

diamond castle


02.

island princess


01.

princess & the pauper


✧ hear me out ✧




03.

diamond castle


Okay this movie is so good. Not only is it a great story, but the movie itself is so aesthetically pleasing, the colour schemes, the songs, everything! And you can bet that Lauren and I sing our hearts out to the songs (me as Liana, and her as Alexa). Once again, like most Barbie movie villains, you hate Lydia, but can’t help but love her at times too.





02.

island princess


The Island Princess is definitely at number two on my list. The songs are so breathtaking, and I have never been the same since the first time I heard the low harmony in the chorus of “I Need To Know” (sung by Prince Antonio). I immediately showed Lauren who, not surprisingly, had the exact same reaction. I will admit that initially Tika really annoyed me, but I realised that she just didn’t want to lose her best friend, and I get that. I can’t imagine losing Lauren to a guy (don’t worry, her boyfriend and I actually do get along). Oh, and the reunion scene where Ro finally finds her mother makes me emotional every time. Once again, the song they sing (“Right Here In My Arms”)... amazing!





01.

princess & the pauper


This movie has been my favourite Barbie movie for as long as I can remember, and it probably always will be. Lauren and I have bonded over this movie to the point where she is my Erika and I am her Annelise. I mean, how can you not love this movie? The soundtrack is absolutely magical! And how could you forget about Preminger? I absolutely despise him, but at the same time, he is just so iconic. Annelise will always be my favourite version of Barbie. I don’t know what it is, it could be her intelligence, or her independence, but she has always been so inspiring to me.







 


lauren



21. barbie diaries

20. a perfect christmas

19. mariposa & her butterfly fairy friends

18. fairytopia

17. magic of the rainbow

16. nutcracker

15. thumbelina

14. rapunzel

13. barbie fairy secret

12. a christmas carol

11. island princess

10. three musketeers

9. magic of the pegasus

8. fashion fairytale

7. mermaidia

6. swan lake

5. 12 dancing princesses

4. princess charm school


03.

mermaid tale


02.

princess & the pauper


01.

diamond castle




 

✧ hear me out ✧


03.

mermaid tale


This was the barbie movie I probably watched the most as a child and still today! Merlia is just such a cool character who really inspires me. She challenged her fate, placing it into her own hands and who was such a kickass woman. I love the visuals, like come on… who doesn’t love mermaids & her pink highlights that I swear you’ll catch me with this summer!




02.

princess & the pauper


This movie was so difficult to place at number 2 because it holds such a special place in my heart. It is the core of my friendship with Georgia, my Annelise to my Erika. Every single song in this movie is simply stunning. It's impossible to choose a favourite! Not to mention, how can i refuse ;)





01.

diamond castle


This movie has to be my number one choice! The nostalgia that hits me when I watch this movie is an unforgettable feeling. Every single song on the soundtrack is an absolute bop! It has everything you need including visuals, music, an iconic villain Lydia who ‘LoVEs SiNgINg soLO’, the adorable dogs and who can forget about the representation of cottage core lesbians that has truly sparked a whole generation! The amount of breath goes into singing these songs with Georgia at our sleepovers are just purely iconic! I see so much of our friendship in these two. The only thing is that Georgia gets to be Liana tho which is no fair because Alexia's bad decision annoys me to this day.





 

well this killed us inside. we're not gonna lie our list changes all the time and so many of these masterpieces deserved to be higher on the list :(( thanks for joining us in this experience!


comment your top three barbie movies below!


–– georgia & lauren ♡
40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Yorumlar


bottom of page