top of page
  • Writer's picturemiss sage

miss sage's other letter to year 11's ♡

Updated: Sep 22, 2021

hi there!


This article is mainly for our current year 10. Next year you will make a huge transition from junior years to senior years. here is my advice for you <3



enjoy the senior uniform!

The skirt and shorts are the ultimate glow up from the dress! For me, it unlocked so much confidence I never knew I had in myself. Take it in and enjoy it.



don’t waste time on fake and toxic people

These senior years come with an upgrade of responsibility. It’s time to get rid of fake and toxic people. The senior years are tricky enough as it is, you do not need bad people dragging you down.



put yourself first and know your limits

This year is filled with a lot more content and work. The top way to get through it is to put yourself first mentally and knowing your limits. Take frequent short breaks and self-care is key.



work as a team in class

A new thing that will be introduced is rankings in your report rather than grades. It’s hard to remember sometimes but this is not a source of competition. You really need to help each other up to all receive the best marks you all possibly can rather than flying solo ahead.



get involved with co-curricular activities (they help a lot!)

Wildflower, CARE, Current Affairs Club, Chess Club, Knitting Club, Debating, Public Speaking, Subject Clubs etc. science. There are so many awesome options to get involved with school spirit. Not only do these go to your report, but you can meet new awesome people around the school.



leadership roles

Later on next year you will have the chance to apply for leadership positions. Take it seriously! Please! Apply for everything you believe you are capable of, but also take chances and opportunities that come to you. Work hard on your speeches, you might surprise yourself and land a role. From personal experience, I was really surprised that I received a leadership position but all in all, I did work super hard to get there (it pays off :D)



don’t be so hard on yourself

This piece of advice is important from year 7–12. But especially for seniors. What your teachers will tell you is that year 11 is a year of experimenting with what works and doesn’t work for you to succeed in year 12. And it’s true! From experience I’ve really learnt what works for me and what doesn’t when it comes to homework, assignments, studying and balancing life.



prelims are not the be-all and end-all

Connected to the last piece of advice I promise you that prelims are not the be-all and end-all. Please don’t burn yourself out for it, but also don’t put it off. The prelims are the only practice for study habits in exam blocks to see what works for you in year 12.



drop a subject early if you don’t like it!

I need to stress this all to you! Drop and change a subject really early if it’s not for you! The senior years are about doing what suits your strengths and for me, even though I’ve enjoyed the class, my mistake was picking a science when I have a more creative mindset.

Sorry, Miss Bradley…



enjoy year eleven

At the beginning of the year when teachers told me to enjoy every day because it flies by I didn't believe them. But honestly, it feels like I blinked and it’s all over! I have developed so much as a person since the beginning of the year and honestly, this whole year has been my best at Bethlehem despite covid-19 taking away a lot. I’ve learnt so much about myself, my abilities and my endurance.


That’s all the advice from me atm but if you ever want to talk to me please don’t be afraid to chuck me an email or dm me on instagram.








~ miss sage ~

dearmisssage@gmail.com

"to be steady in the soul, and free the spirit"




35 views0 comments

留言


bottom of page