top of page
  • Writer's picturemiss sage

i don’t know who i am is always in my mind, every time i look into a mirror, my image is distorted


 

the fact that i don’t know who i am is always in my mind, every time i look into a

mirror, my image is distorted, i don’t even know what i look like or feel.

 


Hi there,




Before actually giving advice for this particular statement or general feeling I'd like to start by saying I am obviously not a licenced psychologist or therapist, I’m just a girl who wants to help.


I feel like everyone has gone through something like this at some point in their life, either they have already been through it or are yet to experience it and others like yourself are stuck in the middle of it right now. Personally I have already experienced this… let's call it a dilemma, I was about 15 years old and I had just come back from a month long trip in Europe. I had started working a lot, I was sitting my year 10 end of year exams and was generally just so absorbed by work, school and attempting to maintain friendships that I never had a second to actually sit down and think about myself. This went on for about 6 months till a regular customer at my job had picked up a conversation with me and asked me, “So, tell me about yourself” and I had absolutely nothing to say to her because I didn’t even know who I was. That question had stuck with me for the rest of the day and I eventually made a pact with myself that night to actually answer the lady’s question, not for anyone else but for myself.


Now after telling you my life story, how exactly did I finally answer her question?




I didn’t

In true pokemon terminology, you will only achieve your final ‘form’ at the end of your life, it is a matter of living through the fact that you will never be able to answer that question fully. Now how?




I cut myself some slack

Girls, it is scientifically proven that we are more perfectionist than men, we look at the small details, we nitpick what we think needs to change. When we are so entranced in ‘fixing’ something that’s broken we don’t realise that perhaps it’s not broken but just needs some much needed love. When you look in the mirror don’t look at it and think “who’s this?”, look at it and state what IS in front of you, you have legs, arms, a torso and a face. YOU ARE A HUMAN!!! Human’s cannot be perfect and they will never have all the answers. Relax a bit, you don’t need to answer all of life’s questions.




And finally, do what makes you happy

Honestly, as cliche as it sounds, it works. We all have different things that make us happy, they don't necessarily have to be big things, it could even be something small like baking cookies. Happiness is the key to being yourself, you will only be your true self when you are genuinely happy in life. Even if you are only happy when you are dancing in your room to trashy music like you’re in an early 2000’s music video, DO IT! If you can’t figure anything out in life right now, you atleast should enjoy being happy, because you deserve it. We all do.







~ miss sage ~

dearmisssage@gmail.com


"to be steady in the soul, and free the spirit"






10 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page