top of page
  • Writer's picturemiss sage

miss sage's letter to year 11’s:

Updated: Sep 22, 2021


hi there!


As we approach the new year eager to do better than the last, here are some tips that can apply to a range of year groups but my main focus was year 11.




#1: Set REALISTIC expectations.

I wonder how many of us, including myself, have ever set an unrealistic expectation. For example, trying to achieve an A but you end up starting that essay 2 days before its due in your exam block.


I believe part of staying motivated is to set realistic goals. If we can see that we are improving

( even in the slightest way possible) then we’re more likely to keep trying whereas if we think we’re going nowhere then it's harder to keep trying. Part of setting realistic goals is to understand how far we have come. It wasn’t until the end of 2020 when I was thinking of all the things I couldn’t do that I realised all the things i’ve accomplished.


So, Set a benchmark that you can reach and keep in mind everyone is different, once you have achieved your set goal, aim for something a little higher.




#2: UNDERSTANDING distractions ( and when ur procrastinating)

This can be really hard ( Guilty, I find it hard and I’m sure there are others in the same position). I have spent the last month removing any electronic devices (i.e phones) away from me and completely off whenever i’m studying. I’ve even resorted to locking myself out of my social media apps after a certain time limit. You may want to try this if you think technology is a distraction for you.




#3: PRACTICE as many past papers and questions as you can

I really wish I had done this during year 11, please ask for past papers when you get closer to your exams and keep going over questions from textbooks that you find difficult.




#4: ASK PLENTY OF QUESTIONS in class to get a better understanding ( and ask your teachers for clarification and feedback - seriously, I wish I had done this more).

The title says it all ^^ please - ask if you need it!




#5: Keeping a calendar or using the school planner // Start notes early

Okay, i’m going to be honest. I never completed my notes for all my subjects in year 11, but that's because I was unprepared and did not start early. It's so crucial to start a plan or scaffold as early as possible and to add as you go throughout the terms. Having a wall / electronic calendar or school planner will help you plan easily and be prepared. I personally now use a wall callander to help me plan my weeks and preempt when I'll be most busy, this way I can balance my work,school and family time.


Remember, that for the majority of your subjects year 11 is the foundation for year 12 and the content is important to keep as you approach year 12. Having structured and complete notes will help you refer to this content later in the future.


I really hope these tips will work for you as you approach the new year, just remember that it's okay to make mistakes and that having high expectations can be hard to achieve at first.







~ miss sage ~

dearmisssage@gmail.com

"to be steady in the soul, and free the spirit"

40 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page