top of page
  • Writer's picturemiss sage

miss sage's letter to year 7's

Updated: Sep 22, 2021

hi there!


Personally, I have been there, in year 7. I came from a school which a) didn’t even introduce to me what an assignment or exam was, b) no one from my previous schools went there and c) was poorly educated on everything. So for me, starting at a brand new school was not easy and I have dedicated this small advice page, just for you guys! Because I understand how hard it can be starting brand new.


I have pulled together 8 small tips which I think would be helpful ( even for year 8’s or 9’s! )



1. Have respect for everyone’s beliefs

Don’t be discouraged or disrespectful about other people’s beliefs and or ideologies. This is the golden rule, just have respect for everyone’s beliefs and as a year 10 student, I know that debates can fire up at random times. So, just be mindful of everyone else's opinions and feelings towards a certain topic, if you want to say something say it along the lines of :

  • “ I respect your opinion, but I believe something different “ OR “ that's cool that you believe that “ - EVEN if you do not believe in their opinions.

At the end of the day, you are at a Catholic school with Catholic morals and that does not mean that you should say one thing and be a hypocrite the next. If Jesus said to love your neighbour, then take that into consideration and not just for what suits you best! ( this can refer to age, gender, sexuality etc )



2. Start assignments and study early!

Assignments and exams start off by a 3-4 week warning for year 7’s, so START straight away! Trust me if I knew sooner, I would have completed assignments at least a week before it is due ( you do not want to get into a habit of leaving things till the last minute!! ) and when you get to year 8, they will start introducing 2-3 weeks only, year 9 and 10 are both 2-week warnings.

  • Also if you are a person who wants to get into the A class by the end of the year, begin getting a calendar and study methods early.


3. Build good relationships with teachers and peers.

For a student starting up, you want to build positive relationships with everyone, even if it is just by saying hi and bye. Teachers want to help you and they are your second supporters!

If you have any trouble with assignments or upcoming exams I am sure that they can tease you in with a tiny bit of information about what you need to study for the exam - teachers are very guilty of doing this!



4. HAVE DREAMS

If you are passionate about something, fulfil it and use that as your drive to succeed. Remember dreams can become reality only if you are willing to sacrifice and work towards them!



5. Get into some club that you love: GET INVOLVED!

If you love sport, participate in a sport, if you love knitting, participate in knitting!

These clubs will keep you busy and if you really enjoy something, you should absolutely do it!



6. Don’t get involved with drama!

Believe me, I have had so many issues with friendship groups and it can be over the stupidest things ( even doing absolutely nothing wrong ). However, there will be girls who will backstab you and talk crap about you behind your back - just ignore it and move on.



7. If you have a problem, deal it YOURSELF

You can do it! Trust me, your parents should NEVER ever get into an issue that you have with friendship groups. Even if you are an introvert, your issues and problems are yours! and NOT your parents. I have learnt this the hard way especially with other parents getting involved in my business, however, that does not mean that you can’t communicate with your mother/father about school issues.


Getting your parents caught up in stupidity is absolutely insane and it does not build up your independence. Your parents are your number one supporters, however, they will not be with you to pay your bills or at a job. Furthermore, they won’t be there to hold YOUR hand forever. It is okay if you ask your parents for advice, do you boo!

But NEVER wrap parents or siblings into a situation which is not theirs to deal with ( it will make a situation confusing and overwhelming for you ).



8. FIND YOUR NICHE!

And turn it into a small career! - If you have a passion for writing, drawing, fashion, calligraphy, coding etc, and you want some pocket money, start a small entrepreneurial business! I have a jewellery business ( @lunarobylexi on Instagram - self-promo :P ) and what better way to avoid fast food and do something that you LOVE by creating a business?!


I advise this to any student, as it builds confidence, independence, problem-solving skills, saving money and builds a name for you! Universities and job opportunities want people who have all of those skills and past experiences and they want someone different from the ‘norm’. So start small and slowly build your way up!



I hope that these tips help you get through years at Bethlehem if you need any more advice please either contact me or come find me, I am always around! Also, don't forget if you ever need more advice, wildflower has its own anonymous advice column!







~ miss sage ~

dearmisssage@gmail.com

"to be steady in the soul, and free the spirit"
75 views1 comment

1 Comment


Lauren Knezevic
Lauren Knezevic
Sep 04, 2020

love this! wish i had this advice when i was in year 7

Like
bottom of page