top of page
  • Writer's picturemiss sage

i'm scared to leave bethlehem...it feels like i was just in year seven yesterday, now i'm leaving

Updated: Sep 22, 2021


hi there!



I will be answering this in the best way possible - I’m only in year 11 so trust me on this one :))



I also decided that this question is best to have it’s own page for itself - I feel it can be dedicated to a lot of people and not just the anonymous person that sent this question through!


Yes I understand everything you’re saying.

I felt too that yesterday I was walking through the gates of Bethlehem and now I’m a year from graduating and it feels daunting. Next term Lauren will be handing down the Wildflower Blog to me and I feel daunted by that. I have always looked up to older individuals. Lauren, Zali and Amy ( and other amazing girls in year 12 ) are some of the best year older students that I have ever met and I feel extremely blessed to be some of their friend’s too. Even in my primary I used to play with the year 6 girls and in a few months I’ll only have the girls in my grade and the teachers so I completely understand you.

I think on the last day of year 12 I’m going to shed a lot of tears too so you’re not alone :)


I can guarantee every student at this school is both excited but afraid to let go of something.


Letting go and moving on is one of the hardest things to do but there are some unavoidable things that need to be let go. Letting go of something that we hold so dearly close to our hearts creates a layer of emotion. And lots of it.


I don’t know who you are but I know that you are not alone. A lot of year 12 and 11 students are thinking the exact same way as you (I know I am!). Trust me, we are all scared in some way to leave the school education system that we have grown up with so much over the course of 12 years. We have grown and made friends along the way which we might feel that we are leaving behind but trust me you’re not. You’re leaving your mark at Bethlehem behind. The memories you have made are the ones which you are taking to your years beyond the education system!

These memories are the memories which you might be telling your children and your grandchildren!


But one thing I know for certain is that it is never too late to do anything.

Your life is how you make it to be. I feel that if you want to achieve something you can totally achieve it at any time and in any way. If I was you make the most out of your final months as a highschool student. If you need someone to break some plates or go on a roadtrip email me!


But make these months be the months that you will never forget.


Organise a bucket-list of the things you want to achieve before that final bell on the final day of school. Take many photos, do the most unique, and memorable things with your friends. I know it’s crazy but TikTok has everything! Search for unique places to visit in Sydney or even check out the BucketList Babes on the Wildflower column!! There’s even a weekly Sunday carnival at Brighton Le Sands I’m pretty sure! Maybe check that out with your friends?!


Also people think that after college that you will not be able to meet your friends. This is not true. You dictate how you want your life to be. Therefore, you can dictate what you want these final months with your high school friends to be and if you want to remain in contact with your friends after school. I don’t want to initiate something bad but if you’ve never sneaked out or done something malicious - do it. But make sure it's on your own terms (don’t feel pressured!!!)


Another thing I find is that even though your childhood is coming to an end as you reach adulthood, it’s not over yet. Don’t be sad that it’s over, smile because it happened. But let me tell you a little secret - childhood is never over. It's a made up concept and so is adulthood too!, everyone is a child and has a playfulness within them. Your childhood will never be over, I find it’s only the beginning. You will let out your wings and reach higher than ever before; yes you might have to pay the bills, or choose a career path but think about these new memories that you are creating. Bigger, better memories. These memories made at BCA are only a taste of what your life will look like. It will never be over, it’s only just the beginning for you. Don’t be scared.


BE adventurous, BE excited, BE curious! Don’t feel scared to step out of your comfort zone - even though it feels sad and frightening but change is good.


What I recommend doing in your spare time is to make a mood board collage of all the amazing photos that you took from your childhood - even ones that have a particular story or funny inside joke. This I can guarantee will make you smile. Ones with your family, cousins, friends.


Re-watch some of your favourite kids tv series (when you want a nostalgic break)! Even listening to some songs from kids tv shows/roaring 2000’s songs. I think the BCAWildflower has a spotify playlist for nostalgic things so check that out!


All you need to do with your life is make the most out of it.


I feel that you know exactly what you need to do with the final months that you have with your friends. And please for me make the most out of your studies too. You only get one chance with your HSC and do the best that you can possibly do!


Before I wrap up I just wanted to say thank you to an amazing year group. Some of you girls have made my years at Bethlehem so memorable and extremely amazing. Some of you girls have made the best conversations with me. Now I’ll probably be doing the Well-being Wall by myself.


Girlie, I’ll be shedding lots of tears during the final year 12 mass with you.


I hoped that this helped clarify some things for you and for all year 12 students.

I know you will be just fine. Don’t be sad - if you need a hug im always here <3

All the best with your future studies.

Remember your childhood is never over! The only thing that will be added is more responsibility but it’s a shared experience. You’re not alone.

You never will be alone :))






~ miss sage ~

dearmisssage@gmail.com

"to be steady in the soul, and free the spirit"
26 views1 comment

1 commento


Lauren Knezevic
Lauren Knezevic
04 giu 2021

i love this! alexia you're making me tear up! 🥺

Mi piace
bottom of page