top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren Knezevic

Don't stress, you have time

***

Being on the cusp of graduation, that scary thought occupies the mind of probably 80% of our year group. The pressure to be extraordinary, to know who you want to be, where to go in this next chapter of our lives. To make a name for ourselves, finding success, fame, and fortune.

But with this pressure comes a bunch of people our age full of disappointment, not knowing their place in the world. The failure to live up to everyone’s expectations.


As someone who has a feel for what I want in my future, you all need to stop being so hard on yourself! There are days I’m certain: I want to attend this university, I want this degree, I want an apartment in this area. But I have to accept things might not go my way, keeping an open mind to my future keeps me grounded especially when times get tough.

If you don't have to have it all figured out yet, it’s okay. I guarantee all of us have this fear looming like a dark cloud over our heads, ready to rain on our parade at the first chance it gets. We have the rest of our lives to figure out where we want to be.

Go work at a few summer jobs, take a gap year, go travelling (covid-safe of course), go straight into a degree if you’re so sure! We have to grasp the future with no hesitation, and it’s easier said than done. There have been days I break down in tears at the fact that I won’t go to school, seeing the friends and teachers who I adore every single day. There are other days when I’m counting down the days to be sipping on a tropical drink with my friends on the beach, it’s natural.

I always aspire to look at Vincent Van Gogh, who failed as a missionary and went to art school at 27-years-old. He is now the best known artist of all time! What he can teach you is take time to smell the roses! Take time to work on yourself and figure out what you actually wanna pursue.


So to the class of 2021, we got this! We will change the world and make our mark! But remember, there is no rush.

Don’t stress, you have time.

–– lauren



19 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page