top of page
  • Writer's picturemiss sage

i might have adhd but i can't work up the courage to tell my parents. what would you suggest?

 

i might have adhd but i can't work up the courage to tell my parents.

what would you suggest?

 


Hi there,


Thanks for reaching out, I know it’s not easy to talk about mental health so thanks for trusting us. As someone who has self-diagnosed themselves with ADHD but hasn’t really gotten a proper diagnosis I know it can be really hard to open up and tell your parents as it can be very daunting to reach out for help without knowing the reaction you’ll get.


While I don’t know your situation at home the first thing I would suggest going to see the school counselor if you’re not already. I know personally for me this really helped as she gave me a lot of information, guidance and techniques to be able to fully understand how I’m feeling and hopefully it will work for you too!


Just know that there's nothing wrong with asking for help if you are struggling. There is a lot of stigma and shame that surrounds mental health issues since a lot of people may think of it as weak but everybody struggles at some point and it’s better to get the help you need then to stay struggling. Just sit down with your parents at a good time and explain to them that you think you may have ADHD and tell them that you wish to get help for it.


This could be getting medication or learning strategies to help maintain it but just know that the sooner you ask for help the better you’ll feel. Hopefully this helped a bit and you find the correct support and treatment that suits you. Best of luck xx







~ miss sage ~

dearmisssage@gmail.com


"to be steady in the soul, and free the spirit"





12 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page